Comfort Food

Standard

It’s called comfort food for a reason. I have recently embarked on a green-smoothie eating plan and already I made the blender smoke and make terrible noises and then cut my finger. That is the opposite of comfort. I know that working toward being healthy is important and actually when I finally got a smoothie made it was pretty good. But it certainly doesn’t comfort me! What comforts me is homemade macaroni and cheese, mashed potatoes, chicken noodle soup, pasta and sauce, Ritz crackers with peanut butter and jelly, and any kind of bread. See, I feel comforted already.

I don’t know if it’s the taste or the texture that makes food comforting. Or maybe it’s because I associate good memories with certain foods.

I remember when I was little, my parents were going out and I had a babysitter. My mom was tucking me into bed before they left and I was sad and didn’t want her to go. She brought me up a plate of crackers with peanut butter and jelly on them. I got to eat them right in bed!

And then much later when I was home with a busy three year old of my own and a newborn, my stepmother called one night to see how I was doing and I just cried, and then cried some more. I may have had a few meltdowns in those first few months of parenting two little boys. She and my dad hightailed it over to my house with a pot full of warm, creamy mashed potatoes. We sat and ate it with spoons right out of the pot.

So I will continue my green smoothie quest, hopefully without setting the house on fire, but will also keep those comfort foods handy just in case. You never know when there could be a crisis calling for a warm pot of mashed potatoes. It’s only prudent to be prepared for emergencies!

Leave a Reply

