Helpers

Standard

I’m feeling so sad. The tragedy in Boston really hit me yesterday. Sometimes the terrible things in the world just seem overwhelming. On Facebook there were many posts about Boston. One person made a joke that was pretty inappropriate and lots of people responded angrily. And then some people vehemently defended the first person. I guess we all handle feelings of fear and helplessness differently. Some of us joke, some of us get angry, and some get sad.

I read two quotes today that I am finding helpful. The first is by Glennon Melton of Momastery.com:

“When the world seems loud, we must be quiet. When the world seems evil, we must be good. When the world seems terrifying, we must comfort each other.”

I will keep this quote nearby today.

The second is a Mr. Rogers quote:

o-MISTER-ROGERS-HELPERS-QUOTE-570

This is a good reminder that when someone does something so utterly terrible, there are also so many people doing wonderful things. I will try to be a helper today, in whatever small ways I can. That’s all I can do. And in order to do this, I need to be brave and seek out my helpers too.

Just by reading this, you are some of my helpers. Thank you.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

