Reading the Sky

Standard

It’s year two of NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) for me. This guy had this crazy idea of writing a novel in one month, fifty thousand words. And now it’s grown into a worldwide event. People carve out time each day in November to write, write and then write some more. As of this morning Austin WriMos are getting close to the million word mark. Is that awesome or what? It’s freeing to be told to just write. As much as you can. And not worry about what you’re writing. Seventeen thousand words in and my story has totally gone off the rails. There’s a twenty something year old who was paralyzed in an accident and a monkey helper (think service dog but monkey). There’s a fantasy thread about a two foot high Dragonfly Girl whose best friend is a hawk. All of a sudden I have a photojournalist at a hospice in Zululand South Africa. I have no idea where this story is going, but it’s going. And that’s what matters for NaNoWriMo.

When I get stuck and think, ‘I really don’t have any words left in me,’ it helps to think of all of the other people doing NaNoWriMo. Sitting at home, in coffee shops or sneaking a little time at work (not me of course!). I picture all of those words filling the sky like stars. At night I can lie down on the grass and read the sky. And maybe borrow some of those words others have written when I get stuck. Shining up there in the dark I see salty, depressed, eggplant, serendipitous, great grandpa, overthrown, purpose, dignified, dangerous, flying, baby, violent, soul, create, mine, officer, persnickety, birthday, dragon, leaves, tender, spaghetti, options.

Thank you for letting me find inspiration in all of your words, writers. Now I must go because I just realized I have written three hundred words that will not count toward my NaNoWriMo word count!

One response »

Leave a Reply

