Starbucks

Standard

starbucks-logo-2014_46_460
The green and white mermaid is on the door.
She’s lured me in and now won’t let me leave.
“Stay,” she says.
“Drink some coffee.
Then a little more.
We have Wi-Fi.
We have caffeine.
What more could you want?”
“You’re right,” I say.
“What more could I want?
Fresh air? Sunshine?
All overrated.”
Open the laptop.
Read something.
Write something.
The mermaid that looked so kind
When I arrived,
Now looks fierce.
I cannot leave.
Oh-well.
Not to panic.
I’ll just go order
Another Trenta.

Leave a Reply

